The Board of Trustees for the Village of Union Springs, at their regular meeting on November 19, 2013, adopted a new Zoning Law which will replace the existing Zoning Ordinance, on or before December 29, 2013. The newly adopted law includes the addition of seven new zoning districts: Rural Residential, Lakeside Residential, Historic Business District, Neighborhood Commercial, Waterfront Commercial, Park and Planned Development. The Industrial zoning district has been eliminated; and with the seven new districts, there will be a total of eleven zoning districts in the Village.

Other additions to the Zoning Law which are not part of the previous ordinance include: Special Use Permits; Landscaping, Screening and Buffering Requirements; Regulation of Telecommunication Facilities; Small Wind Energy Systems; Site Plan Review and Approval; and Subdivision Regulations.

Copies of the adopted Zoning Law are available for review by the public at the Village Offices at 26 Chapel Street; at the Springport Free Library at 171 Cayuga Street; the Seymour Library at 176 Genesee St, Auburn, and online at